jaebm.blogg.se

The brave album
The brave album




the brave album the brave album

It was quite a feeling! I sat down on the big bed and wrote a few words. On my first night there I climbed the stone spiral stairs to my room and looked out of the window across the sweeping woodland in the valley below. I lived in a round castle tower separated from the building, standing alone across the garden. We went there with a truck full of technology and turned the place into a recording studio. In February we moved into Miles Copeland's Chateau Marouatte in the Dordogne region of France - a 15th century castle perched on top of a high hill silhouetted against the moon at night like a vampire movie. Someone in A&R at EMI introduced us to the great Dave Meegan in January of '93 and we set about pulling his visions and ideas into the project. Now the band had a spectrum of imagery to get its teeth into and the songs progressed quite quickly throughout the winter of 92/93. We now had a concept album on our hands at a time when the whole genre was and probably still is terribly unfashionable. 'Runaway' took me back to her - wondering what became of her - and I thought we might dream up a story which would become a piece of music like a fictional documentary of her life and the circumstances which led her to the bridge. I believe that good thoughts eventually lead to good things. I suppose it's as near as I come to saying a prayer. I was also concerned for her and wrote a few words of support which, of course she would never see or hear. I heard this on the radio and thought it was a great first page to a mystery story. In desperation the appeal was broadcast to the general public in an attempt to discover her identity. The police had picked up a young woman wandering on the Severn Bridge who refused or was unable to speak to them. It was round about this stage that the song ideas took me back to a memory of an intriguing radio broadcast from the Bristol Police some years ago on GWR radio. Steve Rothery didn't like it so I went away and used the same chords to write 'The Hollow Man' instead.

the brave album

The third song to take shape was 'The Great Escape' which I was singing against some of Mark's piano chords. John had sent us a lyric called 'Runaway' and I was trying to articulate a statement about man's innate ability to get used to ANYTHING, and the consequences of that, which gradually became 'Living With The Big Lie'. DISC 3 (LIVE AT LA CIGALE (29 APRIL 1994) - 2018 MICHAEL HUNTER REMIX)ĭISC 4 (LIVE AT LA CIGALE (29 APRIL 1994) - 2018 MICHAEL HUNTER REMIXĭocumentary - It All Began With The Bright LightĪlone Again In The Lap Of Luxury (Promo Video)īrave started out like any of our albums, with jam sessions, a handful of finished lyrics from John Helmer, and disparate streams of thought from yours truly.






The brave album