jaebm.blogg.se

Calibre drm removal nook plugin
Calibre drm removal nook plugin









calibre drm removal nook plugin

This option was a no-go for me as it requires you to use windows, pay for the license for non-opensource software, and finally (possibly the worst), give them the username and password to your Nook account. One of the other options available according to my research is a paid Windows applicaion by epubor. Once you have these items in hand, you can use the Free and OpenSource software Calibre with the DeDRM plugin to remove DRM and manage your ebook library.

calibre drm removal nook plugin

Pulling your ebooks out of Nook is a 2 step process: I wanted to share my findings on my blog in case anyone else wishes to do the same. I recently started looking into how I can pull my legally purchased ebooks from the Barnes and Nobel Nook platform to take control over my property. What I choose to do with my personal property is my business and no entity has any say over what I can and cannot do with my personal property. After all, I legally purchased these books and they are my personal digital property. As a free and opensource software junkie,this simply will not fly with me. It appears in recent years that Barnes and Nobel removed this functionality in an effort to lock you more directly into the Nook platform. At the time, Nook was a good option for me since I had the option to download backup copies of my books for posterity directly from the Barnes and Nobel website. However, as a yong adult, I began consuming the majority of my books in digital format on a Nook e-reader.

calibre drm removal nook plugin

As an adult, most of media recently has been in streaming formats in which I do not have an expectation of ownership or property rights. Thanks Jessi! If anyone else has any suggestions for modifications I can make, do contact me.ĭRM or Digital Rights Management, and I have had a hate/hate relationship since I first started consuming digital media in my teenage years. Update: 5-20-20: Thanks to input from Jessi Grieser, I have added better steps for Windows users which may differ from Linux/MacOS users. Authors such as myself work really hard to write books and deserve to be paid for their efforts. Do not use this guide for ebooks that do not belong to you. I am publishing this to help ebook owners such as myself who have legally purchased copies of ebooks for personal use. Disclaimer: Please do not use this guide for nefarious purposes.











Calibre drm removal nook plugin